So You’re Engaged!

Congratulations! Felicidades! Mazel!  You found “the one” who thinks you’re “the one” too, and now you’re having a wedding!

Without a doubt, getting engaged is one of the most exciting things that will ever happen to you.  Even if you saw it coming a mile away, there’s nothing quite like the rush you feel when the man you love gets on one knee and asks you to marry him.  And as a bonus, you get a shiny new diamond ring!

I was inspired to write this blog as I myself just became engaged this year on February 4, 2012.  I am not one of those aforementioned people who knew it was coming, but happen it did, at my birthday party, surrounded by my closest friends.  I was so happy, I literally fell asleep with a smile on my face that night.  It was truly a magical night.

It didn’t hit me until the following day as we flew down to Miami to celebrate with our families and Miami crew (we live in New York), that I had a lot of planning to do.  And by a lot of planning, I mean A LOT of planning.  We gave ourselves a few days to just enjoy the engagement, but pretty soon everyone was warning us that all the good venues/vendors/churches were going to book up quickly so we needed to set the date and start booking.  And so began this Miami girl’s wedding planning adventure.

Over the last almost 8 months, I’ve learned a whoooole lot about planning a wedding in Miami and this blog is dedicated to passing that knowledge along to you, the blushing bride to be.  While much of this will focus on Miami weddings, there will be plenty that will be helpful to brides from sea to shining sea.  From finding the perfect venue, to negotiating vendor prices, to answering the question, do you REALLY need save the dates, The Miami Girl’s Guide to Wedding Planning will take you through this sometimes overwhelming, but always amazing, journey.

Happy Planning!

Leave a Reply

