Venue Spotlight: The Westin Colonnade

It’s been a minute since I’ve done a venue spotlight, and what better way to welcome back this segment than by spotlighting where I got married, The Westin Colonnade Hotel in Coral Gables. When we first got engaged, one of the first things the Mr. and I agreed on was that we did not want a standard hotel ballroom.  We researched every unique wedding venue in Miami that we could find, at one point even considering renting out a night club.  Then one afternoon, while perusing Facebook, I happened upon a picture of some happy wedding guests.  I couldn’t tell where they were, but it looked spectacular. I had to know where this wedding was taking place.  As it turns out, it was the Rotunda ballroom at the Westin Colonnade.  I was crushed.  A hotel? Just what I didn’t want.  Nonetheless, I requested more information from their page, just in case.

When I flew down to Miami to scope out venues, I conveniently forgot to make an appointment to go see the space.  But the catering manager called me during a break between venues, and I decided to just do it.  The moment I walked into the Rotunda, I knew that was where I was going to celebrate my wedding reception.  Here are some shots of it from my photographer, Santy Martinez.

RotundaIf you want to have your wedding at the Westin Colonnade, you can do so in either the Rotunda (above) or in their Merrick Ballroom, which is a more traditional ballroom (but it has windows!).

Merrick

There are 3 standard packages you can pick from, Silver, Gold, and Platinum.  At least a couple of years ago, these ranged from $110 p/p to well above that.  In order to have your reception in the Rotunda, you will need to meet a $20,000 minimum before tax and services charges, which means that you’ll likely need to spring for the Gold package.  This will include butler passed hors d’oeuvres, choice of entree, wedding cake, open bar for 5 hours, specialty linens, chiavari chairs, the honeymoon suite at the end of the night, Starwood points, and other goodies.

You can also use the Galleria space outside the Rotunda for your ceremony.

Just beware that notorious staircase!

Overall, this was a great choice for us. It had all the benefits of a hotel wedding without the typical hotel ballroom feel. I highly recommend taking a look, even if you are anti-hotels. You might just have a change of heart!

Xo,

Mrs. M

Leave a Reply

